Craftsbury races and the joys of travel.

“This is your captain speaking. There is a Korean Airlines plane blocking the runway and it doesn’t seem to be talking to anyone, we are just going to have to wait till it moves.”

Pretty much the story of my travelling life when it comes to flying to and from the East coast, and especially Vermont.

So before we get to our Korean road block, I had another week of racing out East. To make things interesting for us, all Mother Nature decided to spice things up with some rain. For about 36 hours we had pretty consistent rain. I had moved up to Stowe where we were supposed to race but everything was washed away. Luckily another 40 min north there was a 2.4 kilometre man made loop at Craftsbury Outdoor Centre. They had a decent amount of snow and some extra piled up, which they pushed out and made into a really solid skiing loop.

Big thanks to Johnny and Casey for letting me crash at there awesome house. note the lack of white!
Big thanks to Johnny and Casey for letting me crash at their awesome house. Note the lack of white!
It was pretty amazing, craftsbury was given 48 hours notice so they rolled out three Piston bullies and did a lot of work!
It was pretty amazing, Craftsbury was given 48 hours notice so they rolled out three Piston bullies and did a lot of work!
you can just make out here the line of fresh snow being pushed ever outwards.
You can just make out here the line of fresh snow being pushed ever outwards.
trying to turn the brown white!
Trying to turn the brown white!

The one downside to the loop that they had made was that it was super flat for racing, which made things really interesting.

Justin Beckwith waxed my skis again for the weekend and did an awesome job of it too. There were two distance races: a skate on Saturday and a classic on Sunday, both 10km. On the flat course it made it very fast and furious. It also made the times between competitors really close. On Saturday I was just 53 seconds behind second place but back in 18th. Still, I was really pleased with how I skied and happy to have my second top 20 in a row.

JB and Nick waxing the boards. JB is one of the few techs i know that rocks up wearing cowboy boots and wool pants! Its always fun vibes!
JB and Nick waxing the boards. JB is one of the few techs I know that rocks up wearing cowboy boots and wool pants! It’s always fun vibes!
checking out some of the girls racing.
Checking out some of the girls racing.
The races were also combined with a college carnival so there were lots of spectators which was great!
The races were also combined with a college carnival so there were lots of spectators and athletes with almost 500 racers each day which was great!

Sunday was not so good for me. Because the course was so flat most of the men decided to double pole. However after talking to Justin, we decided I should stride because my classic skis were running super fast. I charged into this race with a lot of intent and the aim to finish in the top 10. For the first two laps I raged around the course and really tried to push hard. I felt good and I think for a little while I was up there. But at the end of lap two and the start of lap three my skis dramatically slowed down. The snow was so dirty that my skis picked up a lot of muck and debris and I began to really tire. I ended up a minute or two behind the winner and definitely not in the top ten. A little disappointing and I wonder what might have been if I had double poled but it’s always easy to look back and question the past.

Leaving Vermont always just seems like chaos for me. I ended up being delayed 24 hours in total with missed flights and diversions to other airports. Good old Delta really had a field day on messing things around. It was pretty brutal but the one positive was I got to spend a day in Burlington, which is a lovely old classic east coast Victorian styled city and it was nice to wander the streets and be a tourist for a while.

Classic bridge tunnel in vermont
Classic covered bridge in Vermont
Delta missing their air bridge so we boarded the old fashioned way.
Delta missing their air bridge so we boarded the old fashioned way.
Well i had an extra 5 hours in Seattle but at least the sun was out.
Well I had an extra 5 hours in Seattle but at least the sun was out.

I’m really pleased with how my two weeks out east went. I’m feeling really good and excited to race more. I’m very excited for the next few weeks. I have 2 weeks in Anchorage before I fly down to Canada and prepare for the Canadian World Cup Tour. I hope to just keep the good vibes flowing and have some more great races in Canada.

 

Train hard, rest easy, live for the moment.

2 thoughts on “Craftsbury races and the joys of travel.

Leave a Reply

