Caught between seasons

I have been in the US for 10 days now and what a start to the season it has been here. I arrived into Anchorage and -18C at 5:00pm in the afternoon! I had left Melbourne in the mid 20s so it was quite a shock to the system! I made it worse by arriving without a jacket, yep, didn’t pack a warm ski jacket. Luckily, Lauren was waiting to pick me up with one that I’d left behind from my last trip. So rugged up and warmer, we headed to what feels a lot like home now in midtown Anchorage.

Flying over Lake Tahoe, I have so many great memories here. I need to take a trip there soon!
Flying over Lake Tahoe, I have so many great memories here. I need to take a trip there soon!
First evening in Anchorage
First evening in Anchorage
Snow starting to pile up
Snow starting to pile up.

The start to winter had been superb with cold temperatures and a decent amount of snow. I took the first day or two slow and just went for a few cruise skis with some of my mates from the APU Elite team. They were just taking it easy before they all flew to the first two weeks of races down in Montana and Idaho. It was decided by the Team Manager and I before I flew out that I’d just head straight to Alaska, save some money and just get straight on snow and training for 6 weeks before US Nationals and do local races here instead. It was a bit of a tough decision especially as I look at results from the weekend down there. It’s the first time I’ve missed the races in quite a few years.

The stadium and car park at Kincaid
The stadium and car park at Kincaid

Last weekend Lauren was asked to guest coach at an APU Junior Boys camp up at the base of Government Peak and I tagged along as an extra guest coach and helper. 23 junior boys in a house are pretty crazy but also very energetic and it was a great way to ease back into training as I recovered from the jet lag. The boys are just ridiculously enthusiastic about skiing and it’s quite infectious so it made for a great weekend. To top it off we also got hit by another storm and around 30cm of snow fell which was great.

Driving to our accommodation for the weekend
Driving to our accommodation for the weekend
Some of the juniors whizzing past me
Some of the juniors whizzing past me
Beautiful trails and views
Beautiful trails and views
Lauren rugged up for a -15C afternoon ski
Lauren rugged up for a -15C afternoon ski

The skiing around Anchorage was great for the next few days and easily the best I’ve ever had up here but then another storm front rolled in, too warm this time and it has just punished the snow pack. We basically lost all our snow down low while a lot fell up high but frustratingly the avalanche danger is too high. The roads up to where we would normally ski up higher are all blocked by avalanche so we are a bit caught up right now waiting for either more snow to fall or for the road to be cleared. We had Thanksgiving on Thursday and everyone takes Friday off so things have been moving quite slow on that front.

Even with a snow gun the stadium at Kincaid was reduced to mush.
Even with a snow gun the stadium at Kincaid was reduced to mush.
Hiking up into the Mountains
Hiking up into the Mountains
Getting above the cloud cover
Getting above the cloud cover

Tomorrow is a rest day so I can happily not worry about it for another 24 hours and just have a nice relaxing day at home.

Train hard, Rest easy (I will be), Live for the moment.

Leave a Reply

