Alaska or Narnia you decide.

Recently living in Anchorage Alaska I have really been captivated by the forests, I even started wondering if the 1949 book, The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe by C, S, Lewis was inspired by the Alaskan landscape…

Probably not.

I don’t think it was possible for Lewis just to jump on a plane and check it out during WWII but it really seems possible for that to have been the case. Alaska has all the possible characters; just swap Aslan the Lion for Smokey the Grizzly bear and Moose for centaurs and you’re getting close! It has all the rest of the animals plus enough little crazy people for a good fairytale.

In the past week it really seems like the “White Witch” was defeated and instantly everything has blossomed and turned an amazing lime green. The snow has been pushed back to the peaks of the mountains and shady valleys and replacing it is green grass and bursting leaves. The sun has been shinning almost non-stop (literally, it sets at 11:00pm) and it seems as Lewis once wrote “the whole forest would give itself up to jollification for weeks on end.” The landscape and forests just makes training that much easier and fun. Throw in some great training mates and life has been great, albeit super busy.

The lime green of fresh, new leaves.
The lime green hue of fresh, new leaves.

Things are really warming up (or to a skier they are). Each day is sunny and clear with temperatures around 10-15C, pretty much perfect T-shirt weather (or to an Alaskan it is. Did I just call myself an Alaskan? Worrying). I know that sounds sad but really it’s been great and since all I seem to live in is winter, it’s a great change. Along with all the new greenery are the birds. It’s amazing to realise how quiet the forests were now that they are once again filled with bird song as we run and hike through them.

running beside the sea.
Running beside the sea.
running along trails of green
Running along trails of green.

Another thing that’s back are the larger mammals. The centaur army seems to be back in full force (moose and their new calves are everywhere) and there have been a lot of Aslan sightings and evidence (bear sightings and scats have been everywhere!). In two days Lauren and I saw 12 moose and a Black bear out training. Its pretty amazing to see it all but it definitely keeps me on my toes. I don’t go off into a daydream-like state while running like I do in Australia. Here my head is on a swivel looking for the elusive Aslan.

Training has already been awesome and brutal all in a crazy mix. On the other hand I’ve managed to be more social than I’ve almost ever been, minus perhaps my first few years at College. It seems every one or two days Lauren and I are at a friend’s house for dinner or a BBQ or chilling with friends at the beach cooking snags stuck on sticks over a fire. It’s great fun.

Lauren and I at the beach
Lauren and I at the beach.
Bacon on a stick cooked over a beach fire!
Bacon on a stick cooked over a beach fire!
Playing the great American pass time in the street.
Playing the great American pass time in the street.
A panorama of the beach with Anchorage in the background. Photo Credit Lauren Fritz.
A panorama of the beach with Anchorage in the background. Photo Credit Lauren Fritz.

I’ve had a lot of inspiration and motivation working with a bunch of great guys from the APU team. Those guys are showing me the meaning of quality training and it’s great to rise to the challenge. A lot of the best skiers in America are based here so being able to train with them a few times a week is really positive to my training and it’s great to be pushed.

Lex and I heading off for an adventure run and crust ski in the mountains.
Lex and I heading off for an adventure run and crust ski in the mountains.
Lex crust cruising.
Lex crust cruising.
On the very tippy top of Bird Ridge
On the very tippy top of Bird Ridge

For now, I’m off to “the far land of Spare Oom, where eternal summer reigns around the bright city of War Drobe” for another adventure.

 

Train hard, Rest easy, Live for the moment.










2 thoughts on “Alaska or Narnia you decide.

Leave a Reply

