Scandinavia

So I’m finally in Sweden and joined up with the Australian team as we prepare for World Championships! The pointy business end of the season! Where all the work we have done for the past year really counts! Last week in Craftsbury, Vermont I had yet again a mix bag of results, where my body felt solid and ready to charge yet not quite able to do so. I was hoping for some big results but again felt like I wasn’t able to capitalize properly on my races. The big positive to come out of the weekend was I qualified for the heats in the sprint race! This is the first time this season I have been able to do it so I was stoked to be in the mix, racing the big guns! I drew a very tough heat for the first round, the eventual winner and third place finishers were in my heat. The race went well and I was sitting in second for over half of the race but on one of the hills I was out kicked by two other racers coming either side of me. I finished up 4th in the heat out of 6. It was disappointing that I didn’t move on but I was glad to of made it and given it my all.

The race organisers shad created a starting mound for to use in the sprint time trial. Little bit random
The race organisers had created a starting mound for us use in the sprint time trial. Little bit random, main aim here was just not to fall flat on my face off the start line!
Classic Vermont with the rolling hills and a big red barn!
Classic Vermont with the rolling hills and a big red barn!

I then packed all my gear and headed to the airport only to find my flight had been cancelled due to an impending storm. So again I was waylaid by weather and forced to wait in Burlington till the storm cleared and flights started again. I spent two nights in Burlington just hoping for a change in the weather. It finally came and I was on the 3:pm flight to Newark. However my flight was delayed and so when I finally got to Newark I literally sprinted from one gate to the other. At the gate they had already deleted me off the passenger list, but they put me back on and let me pass and basically as I walked onto the plane they shut the doors behind me. I lucked out however on the flight and had a row to myself and I was able to sleep for 4 of the 7 hours of flying from America to London. Once I was there I used a United Club card which Lauren had given me and got into the United Club lounge which was awesome! There is free food and showers! I was determined to make the most of my stay there, so I thoroughly enjoyed a shower, and being able to brush my teeth plus I ate far more than I should have.

Story of my traveling life... wheres the plane?
Story of my traveling life… where’s the plane?
having a shower mid travel, best feeling!
Yep I was so excited to shower I took a photo of the bathroom!
United club lounge!
United club lounge, London!

I then caught a flight to Stockholm Sweden. I arrived but none of my bags did so after reporting them missing. I then needed to catch the last train to Mora but it was fully booked! I managed to convince the ticket salesman to sell me a ticket and I would just stand for the 3.5 hour ride. Luckily after about 30 min some seats freed up and I snagged one for the rest of the journey. I was greeted by team manger Brian Keebele and Coach JC so it was great to see some familiar faces and taken to team accommodation! I slept well and woke to a glorious sunrise and perfect skiing in Sweden. It’s sunny and -15 with amazing scenery! My bags arrived and things are looking good!

The sun appearing.
The sun appearing.
In SWEDEN! happy to be our running
In SWEDEN! Happy to be out running.
Pre sunrise looking out the window of our house.
Pre sunrise looking out the window of our house.
7:30am Jog with Jackson
7:30am Jog with Jackson.
the light coming through the snow covered trees create amazing effect
The light coming through the snow covered trees create amazing effects.
perfect bluebird day
Perfect bluebird day.
Amazing snow ghosts.
Amazing snow ghosts.
Myself, Casey and Jess. We are all slightly frozen but happy!
Myself, Casey and Jess. We are all slightly frozen but happy!
Out skiing
Out skiing!

Train hard, rest easy, live for the moment

2 thoughts on “Scandinavia

Leave a Reply

