Training in Bozeman

Ok, so I’ll admit I’m writing this with less than ideal sleeping hours under my belt and probably one cup of coffee too many this early in the morning. So if this post seems a little shaky or I start rambling on I do apologise in advance!

Why didn’t I get enough hours of sleep? As an athlete shouldn’t I be totally onto this? We’ll you’re right and I did drop the ball a little, luckily today is an easier day of training for me and a nap is definitely in order later!

I’m still in Bozeman and at the moment I’m babysitting the family dog, a 13 year old husky with mild anxiety issues. Since I’m the only one at home, he decided to sleep in my room. If you don’t believe dogs snore, come hang out with me and Beans for a night! It’s like sleeping in the subway. I’m half thinking he does it on purpose so I have to get up early in the morning to take him for a walk. Either way it worked for him!

My boy Bean, Possibly the noisiest sleeper i have ever met!
My boy Beans, the animal in with serious sinus issues! Possibly the noisiest sleeper I have ever met!

Once I got back from Nationals I had a rough week. The travel and cold weather just caught up with me and I was out sick for a few days. After such a frustrating week, getting sick was the last thing I needed and my spirits and enthusiasm for winter definitely took a beating. Luckily I was really onto the illness and shook it off quickly and was back into easy training after just a few days. I trained lightly by myself for a few days and then I rejoined the team. Once I was back with BSF for some proper team sessions thing really improved and have been going well since. My enthusiasm and energy returned with my rejoining of the team.

Coach Bern working on my boards, switching bindings and team mate Jennie Bender chilling out.
Coach Bern working on my boards, switching bindings and team mate Jennie Bender chilling out.
winter continues to limp along here with good snow in the mountains but average conditions around town.
Winter continues to limp along here with good snow in the mountains but average conditions around town.

I have turned in a good, big week of training and really feel like I am getting back my spark and on top of my skiing again. It might just be that I’m back at altitude again and everything feels like it should, but I’m stoked to be on the right path again! The weather overall has been nice and warm with great temperatures hovering around -1. The skiing up higher is amazing and I’ve been just loving the sessions.

Travel 20 min up the mountains and there is nothing but perfect trails and amazing skiing! It's perfect up there!
Travel 20 min up the mountains and there is nothing but perfect trails and amazing skiing! It’s perfect up there!
Last week the Banff Film Festival came to town and it was amazing to see a bunch films from, free climbing to fly fishing, back country skiing to kayaking.
Last week the Banff Film Festival came to town and it was amazing to see a bunch films from, free climbing to fly fishing, back country skiing to kayaking. The event come to Melbourne later in the year and it’s worth checking out!

I won’t get to enjoy the trails for too much longer, on Tuesday I jet off yet again, this time heading to the east coast and the next round of Supertours in Craftsbury, Vermont. Then after that it’s straight back onto a plane and off to Sweden to prepare for the World Championships. I’m really pleased things are starting to come back together again!

 

Train hard, rest easy, live for the moment.

 

3 thoughts on “Training in Bozeman

Leave a Reply

