Montana

As always, time has flown by. Being on the road and living in a new place hasn’t given me much of a chance to sit down and write. On the positive though, it means I’ve been out and about, getting settled into my new life!

Climbing higher and getting more of a view of Bozeman
Climbing a local hill to get a view of Bozeman and my new home during a run.

I was plunged straight into winter on arrival in Bozeman with the first few days being beautiful and clear but a cold -25C. I took the first few days nice and easy, not wanting to push it. Then once I was settled I began training with the BSF elite team. For the first few days I stayed with the elite team coach before moving into the centre of town. The weather slowly warmed up from nippy -25C and the training got a little more intense.

The three Aussies in Bozeman. Mark Pollock, Jess Yeaton and myself.
The three Aussies in Bozeman. Mark Pollock, Jess Yeaton and myself.

IMG_5110

Skiing on the golf course that is transformed into trails when snow comes.
Skiing on the golf course that is transformed into trails when snow comes. Some of the elite girls team doing speeds off to the left.
Helping fellow Aussie Jess Yeaton get her car going after the cold snap
From the cold temperatures and sitting around, Jess’s car had decided to pack it in. I tried not to electrocute myself and get it going again. 
Sunset over Bozeman. You can see three white dots on  the left which are lights to the College football stadium. It's huge.
Sunset over Bozeman. You can see three white dots on the left which are lights to the MSU College football stadium. It’s huge.

After a week in Bozeman I re-packed my bag again and headed with the team to West Yellowstone for the first set of Supertours. The Elite team was joined by the junior team so with around 40 athletes we were a sea of red and black as we went out training. For the first few days in West we had a mixture of snow and sun before waking to find almost blizzard conditions on Tuesday with a foot of snow already fallen.

Skiing in my uniform in the snow storm. All pretty exciting!
Skiing in my new uniform in the snow storm. All pretty exciting!
Out on a morning run with BSF at West Yellowstone
Out on a morning run with BSF at West Yellowstone.
The wide streets always amaze me in West. This one leads out into the Yellowstone National Park.
The wide streets always amaze me in West. This one leads out into the Yellowstone National Park.

My energy is high and I’m psyched to head into the first set of races. I’m looking forward to having my first set of races for BSF and testing myself once again on the brutal West Yellowstone course. The course has a lot of transitions and its hard to find any rhythm on it plus at 2000 metres it’s a lung buster if you go out too hard and pop. It should be a lot of fun.

 

Train hard, rest easy, live for the moment.

Leave a Reply

