The last Northern Hemisphere blog.

Well it’s been a little while since my last blog. The last few weeks have been great and I’ve had an excellent mental break from racing and the regimented training regime. Spring in Alaska I’ll admit is pretty amazing. For basically a month straight we had perfect sun and great temperatures hovering around 0 degrees C. My day would generally consist of getting up to a perfect blue bird day, having a lazy breakfast and then planning the days adventure with Lauren. Generally this would be a hike, crust ski, back country ski or run through the forest. Pretty much heaven for me. In the evenings I had an awesome opportunity to get into a wood working shop, so I had a great time being creative and literally whittling away the hours. There was a sign on one of the walls of the shop that said “The hours I enjoy wasting aren’t wasted hours” which seemed very appropriate for that period of time. Before I let photos do the rest and give you a visual of what I’m talking about, I need to talk about skiing once more. But just once, I promise. Without question for the last two years I’ve rapidly improved as a skier and have reached a whole new level of racing. A level where I am able to race on the World Cup circuit and World Championships and  be a member of the Olympic shadow team. This is mainly due to my coach “The Boss” August Teague. He is by far the main reason I’m skiing where I am today and sadly this has been his last winter with us. I hope he might work with us from time to time in the Northern Hemisphere. He is moving on to his own business and other coaching opportunities. He’s set the bar high for my future expectations, as a coach, and the last two years have been great. I wish him all the best in his future endeavors!

The Boss feeling on top of the world training with me on Mt Buffalo in Australia in 2013 Always fun adventures!
The Boss feeling on top of the world training with me on Mt Buffalo in Australia in 2013 Always fun adventures!

So now I’ll let photos do the rest of the talking.

Top of the Glacier looking at an amazing view!
Top of the Glacier looking at an amazing view!
Myself and Kate, Big thanks to Kate and John for hooking me up with gear! Photo Credit Lauren Fritz.
Myself and Kate, Big thanks to Kate and John for hooking me up with gear! Photo Credit Lauren Fritz.
The crew skinning up to the top of the glacier. Photo Credit Lauren Fritz.
The crew skinning up to the top of the glacier. Photo Credit Lauren Fritz.
The crew, back country buddies.
Back country buddies.
A Panorama of the view. Photo Credit Lauren Fritz.
A panorama of the view. Photo Credit Lauren Fritz.
Great views.
Great views.
Warm in the sun but still frozen in the shade.
Warm in the sun but still frozen in the shade.
The view for my last run in Alaska
The view for my last run in Alaska.
Lauren on Bird Ridge.
Lauren on Bird Ridge.
One of my endeavors, a cribbage board.
One of my projects in the wood shop, a cribbage board.

I’m actually writing this as I sit in front of the fire at home in Porepunkah, Australia. I finally flew home on the 14th of April. Alaska feels very much like home and seeing as the sun was coming out so much, I’m a little sad to be heading back to autumn and winter when the summer activities were getting so good! I’m already starting to plan my next trip, so I’ll be back again.   Train hard, rest easy, live for the moment.

Leave a Reply

