Europe

Jumping from one continent to another is often a tough journey, often there is a fairly big cultural change along with the jet lag that comes with travel. It all concocts together nicely to fry your brain on arrival. This time heading from America to Europe I felt like I was hit with a double dose of it!

Flying into Europe, no snow in sight.
Flying into Europe, no snow in sight.

I originally had a flight from Bozeman to Denver then Chicago onto Munich, but my flight from Denver wasn’t going to leave on time so instead I caught a flight to Frankfort then onto Munich. From there it was three different trains down into Austria and into Seefeld. I only managed an hour’s nap in the entire 30+ hours of travel time, so I was fairly battered about when University Games Coach Ewan Watson picked me up and took me to the rest of the Uni Games team. For the first two nights I was with the Uni Games team, which is basically a bunch of up and coming Australian U23 athletes that are great to be with and great value.

 

Ridding the train at night with me and all my friends...
Ridding the train at night with all my friends… At least i didn’t have to hustle for a seat!
At one of my train transfer, getting artsy waiting.
At one of my train transfer, getting artsy waiting…

Even after an 11 hour sleep I was still pretty out of it and just took the day to get my brain in gear, organise my bag and do some washing. I have been loving the warm temperatures in Europe. Going from -20’s to -1 C feels amazing. I was even tricked into thinking I could hang a bunch of my washing out side to dry in the sun but needless to say it froze solid and my jumper was used as a frisbee by the team for a while…

 

One of my frozen jumpers... (Photo credit Nick Montgomery)
One of my frozen jumpers… (Photo credit Nick Montgomery)

I find it amazing going form America where everything is Supersized to Europe where everything is downsized. It takes a bit of getting used to! Suddenly I feel I have to be careful walking around our apartment, as it seems everything is positioned at head height and waiting to give me a knockout blow.

After my two nights with the Uni crew I headed over and joined the World Cup team in athlete accommodation for the races that weekend. There was three races a sprint and two distance races. Originally the plan was to do the Sunday races thinking I would have enough time to recover from travel and jet lag and feel ready to fire but in the end the trip really took it out of me and my body wasn’t ready to race. It’s always tough to sit by and watch others race but considering I have the Davos World Cup this weekend, which is an Olympic qualifier it was decided to focus entirely on that. So from Seefeld we loaded the team vans and headed to Davos, Switzerland.

 

Team mate Callum Watson enjoying a run in Austria
Team mate Callum Watson enjoying a run in Austria.
Stadium in Seefeld with the ski jump landings in the background
Stadium in Seefeld with the ski jump landings in the background
Our sweet hotel in Austria
Our sweet athlete accommodation in Austria.

Davos is the team’s European home away from home and it’s great to be back. The weather here is amazing and sunny so skiing has just been a pleasure! The whole team is gearing up for our first World Cup race of the season a brutal 30km skate on a tough course which has had two new hills added just to spice it up bit.

Driving over the Fluela pass between Austria and Switzerland.
Driving over the Fluela pass between Austria and Switzerland.

So as we head to the weekend things will get a lot more focussed and the team will get it’s game face on. For now though it’s still all smiles and fun. I hope to have a race report soon!

Until next time.

Train hard, Rest easy, Live for the moment.

2 thoughts on “Europe

  1. I love reading your blog, Paul. Keep it up, and keep enjoying the experiences. Best wishes for your training and racing, from all the Birkies back home.
    Helen (President, BNSC)

Leave a Reply

