Spring, Autumn and Bear Spotting.

So the last few months post winter have been fairly crazy. Training camps, writing a Thesis, packing for the States and more training has dominated my schedule. Straight after winter the team gathered at the AIS in Canberra once again to do some testing to make sure our training was on track since the last set of tests. I hadn’t run much leading up to the camp (twice in six weeks) because of a bruised foot which had turned into a case of sesamoiditis in late winter. Sore foot or not I had a rather disappointing session on the Vo2max treadmill test, producing an average effort. Well I clearly forgot to pack my running legs and couldn’t handle the speed of the treadmill but all the other parameters of the test like lactic acid levels and heart rate looked good. In the end I just view it as a bad race with some good signs. All the other tests went really well so over all it was a great testing camp, knowing I’m coming into the European season with some quality fitness gains being made!

The treadmill.
The treadmill.

Something I’ve learned in the last few months is that writing a thesis just before you fly overseas is a tricky task. I have finally wrapped it up to a point needing only a few more minor changes  while I’m over seas and then I can finally hand it in! It only took 12 months longer than I had hoped… It’s very exciting to be almost done!

For my last month before I flew overseas I was based back in Porepunkah with my folks and it was nice to be settled and get back into a routine! Spring was pretty lovely with warm sunny days and great training opportunities! It’s easily my favourite time of the year in Australia and being in the mountains just makes training super fun and enjoyable! Just before I left, an amazing photographer offered to help myself and the Australian Ski Team by donating a set of amazing photographs to be Auctioned off. So a massive thank you to Johannes Smit for the great pictures! Please check out his page here, it’s really worth it!

Loving the Bush.
Loving the Bush.
Great single track
Great single track training.
Running on Mt Buffalo
Running on Mt Buffalo
On top of Mt Bogong on a not such a great Spring day with Phil, Rob and Allison
On top of Mt Bogong on a not such a great Spring day with Phil, Rob and Allison

I’m now just into my second day here in Lake Tahoe, California. I flew in late on the 7th of October. The flight over was possibly the easiest flight I’ve ever had. I checked in at Melbourne with Qantas and it took probably 5 minutes max, no waiting at all. I said my goodbyes, strolled through customs and jumped on the plane with a row of four seats all to myself! After five to six hours of sleep and a few movies I was in the States. Easy as. It’s been wonderful getting back over here and catching up with people. The locals are just awesome and the environment is just as good! So far training has been awesome! I’ve had a roller ski and a few runs. The opportunities for running out my back door into the forest has been awesome and I’m really, really keen to see a bear! I have heard there has been a few around so I’ve been out running with my little camera each day hoping to spot one. It’s so nice here in Autumn/ Fall, I never realised just how pretty it was! Each run I’ve had some great running companions, Max and Roxy the dogs. Running with dogs is such a fun motivating experience, they are just so excited and happy to be out in the woods running around I find it infectious and uplifting! They’re always nice enough to wait for me when I start to fall behind which is nice.

Great scenery and colors in the woods.
Great scenery and colors in the woods.
Roxy!
Roxy checking out the camera.
The dogs checking out a tiny flurry of snow we had this morning.
The dogs checking out a tiny flurry of snow we had this morning.
Pretty hard not to love running here!
Pretty hard not to love running here!
Myself and ever energetic Max.
Myself and Max who was too excited to stay still long enough for a photo.
Awesome roller skiing out at Black wood.
Awesome roller skiing out at Black wood.
Loving the fall colors and the lake.
Loving the Fall colors and the lake.

So perhaps I’ve been jinxing myself in the bear-spotting department by always running with a camera. Or just two dogs and Nordic athlete don’t smell nice enough to entice a bear out and I need to lift my game! Someone suggested a nice big steak in my drink belt while I’m out running but I’m not sure if I’m willing to become the game just yet…

So for now I’ve barely seen a bear, just this cheeky little fellow.

My only bear sighting so far.
My only bear sighting so far.

Once again I’m back to it.

Train hard, rest easy, live for the moment.

3 thoughts on “Spring, Autumn and Bear Spotting.

  1. Hi Paul,

    Good to hear your flight over went well … an auspicious beginning to the trials ahead! Thanks so much for your kind words about my photos and for providing a link to my website …. much appreciated.

    Sounds nice where you are and it seems you have nice people (and dogs) around you, which is great. Hope all goes well with your training and the selectors do the right thing when they pick the team!

    Best wishes,
    Hans

Leave a Reply

