Feathertop

So the mood to write a blog has struck me. I was hoping this mood would hit a lot more regularly. But I guess when I’m already feeling glued to the computer writing a thesis and training in between, extra writing is the last thing I’m interested in. I’m planning to write a little more, we’ll see if it comes to fruition.

To be honest this hit of enthusiasm has come from a run I did today. I’m in an easy week of training, recovering from five weeks of solid training. The run itself wasn’t that easy being a 25km run up Mt Feathertop and back down to the valley floor. It was just such an amazingly scenic and slightly nostalgic run, I thought I might share a little.

For as long as I can remember I’ve been a member of the Birkebeiner Nordic Ski Club. When I was young, around 10 or 12 years old, every weekend leading up to winter the whole club would gather somewhere and train together. One of my most memorable sessions was hiking Feathertop with my dad and the rest of BNSC. One session, it took me over 4 hours for the round trip where as today I snuck under 3, even with a few photo breaks. I’ve come into some nice running form lately and have really been enjoying the long runs in the mountains. I clocked a 34:14 min in a 10km a little while ago, so it was also nice to see I can run with a bit of speed too.

While I was overseas this year, my home area got hit with bad bush fires and as it seems almost every year now, I look for updates from family and the media on how the fire is progressing and if anyone is in danger. (sadly some people did loose their lives). Today I ran through a lot of the fire-damaged area and in the last few years the area has been burnt a lot. People often quickly forget how long the damage from the fires last. Seeing it first hand has again really reminded me   how bad and frequent the fires can be. Parts of it still haven’t seen any growth, others a minty-green tinge is shining through the black. It was an awesome session with a very rewarding view at the end. I’ll let the photos do the rest of the talking.

 

IMGP0045

Snow gums that have turned red after the fires.
Snow gums that have turned red after the fires.
The view into Ovens Valley.
The view into the Ovens Valley.
On top.
On top.
All that remains from all the early snow falls we had in May.
All that remains from all the early snow falls we had in May.

IMGP0028

Coming from a green un-burnt section into more fire effected area.
Coming from a green un-burnt section, into more fire-affected area.
Above the tree line
Above the tree line.
IMGP0022
Burnt matchsticks.
"Hot spots" random parts of the bush burnt while others survive
“Hot spots” random parts of the bush burnt while others survive.
There has been some great work done on the trail but a little more needs to be done
There has been some great work done on the trail but a little more needs to be done.
The start of the trail as the sun crests the mountians
The start of the trail as the sun crests the mountains.

Train hard. Rest easy. Live for the moment.

2 thoughts on “Feathertop

  1. Hi Paul,
    Great photos! They bring back some happy memories but it’s sad to see the damage done by the bushfires. Your 34:14 for 10km is very impressive! I managed a 33:58 in my younger (relatively speaking) days, but that was on the track.
    Best wishes,
    Hans

Leave a Reply

