Final blog on the Northern Hemisphere winter.

So this most likely will be my last blog to be posted for the Northern Hemisphere winter.

The last week of the trip was an amazing highlight. Alaska is a breathtaking place and easily an area on Earth I could happily spend a lot of time in, exploring the mountains and valleys. There are quite a few things that draw me to that part of the World!

Checking out the Alaskan mountains with Star the dog
Checking out the Alaskan mountains with Star the dog.
Looking down along the ridge i'd just climb and Anchorage in the distance.
Looking down along the ridge I’d just climbed and Anchorage in the distance.
Amazing views.
Amazing views.

As always, United Airways cooked up a fair bit of fail, our flight was delayed an hour and a half in LA because of “issues with the cargo”. What had happened was United had decided to add one more cargo container after we had pushed back from the doors. Their excuse was that if they had not done it, they would have received a late fine for not delivering the cargo… Clearly all the passengers they made late didn’t matter….

I love how simple acts of kindness can go long way. On the main flight from LA to Sydney, I offered my blanket to an older lady who was travelling with her elderly mother and was clearly cold. After that she just produced chocolate and candy from her bag offering it to me. She even kept one of my meals, which I had missed because I was asleep. It was an extremely pleasant flight!

The Flight to Melbourne from Sydney was just as exciting with United. As we landed and then proceeded to taxi to the terminal, we obviously missed the mark while parking the plane and ran into the landing bridge that we were meant to use to exit. The end result was a huge hole in the wing and our exit and proceeding baggage collection being delayed around 3 hours. Not fun!

The puncture is about the size of a basketball.
The puncture in the wing was about the size of a basketball.
Exiting the plane by stairs, you can see the damage on the opposite wing.
Exiting the plane by stairs, you can see the damage on the opposite wing.

Anyway the last few days at home have been magical, running and hiking in the mountains around home in some pleasant 20 degree heat!

IMG_1400
Hiking on Buffalo with the whole family.
IMG_1447
Been a long time since the four of us were together!
IMG_1356
Top of Snake Ridge running with Dad and Andrew.

As always you can’t spend 6 months aboard without saying some massive “thank you’s!”

Firstly and very importantly, there have been some very very special and kind families that have welcomed me into their homes to stay for many many weeks and months! They have been extremely generous and I’m very grateful to have been so lucky  to have been able to stay. I hope I can return the offer!

To my Sponsors

Birkebeiner Nordic Ski Club, Innovative Practical Marketing Solutions, Falls Creek and The University of Ballarat, without your support I could never have made it over to race, or been able to race for so long! Thank you!

To my Coach and Director, August Teague and Finn Marsland. Thanks for another amazing, successful year. I can’t wait for the next 12 months! Thanks!

Thanks to the other support members of the team, the waxers, managers and physios. It’s been great working with you!

Finally to all my friends and family who send me messages and keep me going, you’re the best and a massive thank you to you all!

Train hard. Rest easy. Live for the moment.

 

One thought on “Final blog on the Northern Hemisphere winter.

  1. Hi Paul

    Thanks for all the updates during your trip. Helen and I enjoy reading them. You come across as a very positive person who deserves to succed in this tough sport. You write an excellent Blog. Have you finished Uni? What are your plans work wise if you have? Catch up with you during the season.

    Regards
    Paul L’H…

Leave a Reply

