Tahoe Time… The best time!

Well the final chapter of this epic six-month adventure has begun. I have been in the states for a few weeks now and have a few more to go before I arrive home on the 22nd of April 6 months and 2 days after Callum and I left.

The first week I arrived in Tahoe was an unstructured training week, which basically meant I could do what ever I felt like. The idea behind the week is if I’m tired it’s a chance for me to recharge the batteries and relax or if I’ve been craving some random form of exercise I can get my fill! The week was awesome catching up with some friends from around the area and doing some light training. Easily the highlight of the week was a powder day of downhilling with some local guys. It’s been a while since I was really pushed downhill skiing and being with these guys I was easily the weakest skier so it was really exhilarating charging a few lines which I thought were borderline crazy!

IMG_1011
Alpine Meadows with Gus and Drew.
IMG_1018
Sussing out the Beaver Bowl.
IMG_1046
Johannes, Drew and Myself loving life on top of the World!
IMG_1052
Drew looking for the perfect place to drop

After a week of taking it easy I was really keen to start training hard again and I was hit with two solid 20+ hour weeks which was a bit of a shock to the body! However with the arrival of Callum from Scandinavia and a few other American skiers the training group has been great and session made easy!

The Spring skiing here has been amazing with glorious Californian sun and great snow. With the warmth has also brought out a few more of the locals and the first bear sightings have been made out on Royal Gorge so hopefully Callum and I get lucky and see one, we are both super keen to catch a glimpse (from a nice little distance).

I feel perhaps photos again may best describe how much fun it is over here, so for now.

Gus on top of the World
Gus on top of the World
Callum with local legend Patrick McElravey. Photo credit Lauren Fritz.
Callum with local legend Patrick McElravey.
Photo credit Lauren Fritz.
DSCN0692
Callum earning himself a 6 pack of beer for skiing in undies for 20 minutes…
Photo credit Lauren Fritz
Lauren Fritz, Myself and Cal with Royal Gorge in the background. Photo credit Lauren Fritz.
Lauren Fritz, Myself and Cal with Royal Gorge in the background.
Photo credit Lauren Fritz.

 

Train hard. Rest Easy. Live for the moment.

Leave a Reply

