Christmas in Germany!

So I had a very unique Christmas this year. For the first time in quite a few years I had Christmas with my family! Normally they are back in Australia so the closest I get to a family Christmas is skypeing them. This year we were all gathered in Haag Im Der Oberbayern,  with our good family friends that live there. I’d gotten a ride with my parents up from Italy to Germany. It was really nice to have a change of pace especially after all the races.

It was basically a mini holiday for me, I went Ice skating, Running through the amazingly green forests out to dinner, to the theatre and ate my fair share of Christmas food! Overall it was wonderful just having some family traditions and laughs at the dinner table.

Ice Skating  (form left) Andi, Chrissi and Andrew.

Ice Skating (from left) Andi, Chrissi and Andrew.

Family christmas time

Family Christmas time.

The Horse of Haag. I found this in the forrest during a run.

The Horse of Haag. I found this in the forrest during a run.

Another discovery in the forrest. I'm guessing it was something the local kids made.

Another discovery in the forrest. I’m guessing it was something the local kids made.

Had an amzing forrest run through gream moss and pine trees. I ended up just running through the forrest off the track it was so much fun.

Had an amzing forrest run through green moss and pine trees. I ended up just running through the forrest off the track it was so much fun. As you can see, zero snow around!

Family time

Family time.

 

I have now head back into Switzerland and rejoin the distance skiers from the AUS team in Campra a very small ski area in the Italian speaking part of Switzerland. After the break I’m really keen to ski again and burn a few kilos of Christmas food! The snow here is crazy yesterday 1.3 meters of snow fell and so things are fairly chaotic here with trees down and roads snowed in. The races have even been pushed back a day because the snow is so deep it will take a day just to pack it all down.

I’ll let photos do the rest.

A snow blower attempts to cut a path up the road higher from Campra to the Pass.

A snow blower attempts to cut a path up the road higher from Campra to the pass.

Ewan next to a buried 4WD.

Ewan next to a buried 4WD.

Mountians of snow everywhere!

Mountians of snow everywhere!

A lone light on the other side of the valley.

A lone light on the other side of the valley.

The footpath

The footpath…

Train hard, rest easy, live for the moment.

1 Comment

Filed under General

One response to “Christmas in Germany!

  1. Those photos are epic! It just snowed 3cm here in Sweden and we thought we were doing well… train hard!

Leave a Reply

